Ensemble 360

1 Dec
Studio Theatre
Sold out

Music in the Round Logo

BRAHMS String Quartet in C minor Op.51 No.1
LAURENCE OSBORN New Work for Piano Quintet, commissioned by Royal Philharmonic Society
KORNGOLD Piano Quintet in E Op.15

The two beautiful Opus 51 quartets were the first works for this formation that Brahms was willing to publish, though only after a period of immense self-doubt and revision. Each is conceived on the same grand scale that characterises Brahms’ symphonic writing. The lavish style of Korngold’s famous Hollywood scores is pre-dated by his wonderful piano quintet in which distinct traces of the late Romantic works of Elgar and Rachmaninov can be detected.

Ensemble 360 is also delighted to feature a world première by rising young composer Laurence Osborn who has already written for the London Symphony Orchestra and London Philharmonic Orchestra.

Running time: About 1 hour and 55 minutes (including a 15 minute interval)
Icon tickets large red e5aef7f8f8952255d7cf1c84a3efbfaa720f4200ab0f3788dbb25ac86191d812 Book tickets

You may also like…

Logo rings 78be8aed94d995f1360f5c23eb019b92fb08eee41f89ffa15548065189e0fea3

Sheffield Theatres is the largest theatre complex outside London. Across our three auditoria: the Crucible, the Lyceum and the Crucible Studio, we offer a huge variety of home-grown and touring productions, as well as a thriving programme of participatory events and activities.