Music in the Round


Ensemble 360

Presented at The Showroom, Paternoster Row : Sheffield

Running time: 1 hour (no interval)

Part of the Music In The Round: May Festival 2013

BRITTEN Six Metamorphoses after Ovid Op.49 – for oboe, to a newly commissioned film
FILM: The Way to the Sea – music by Benjamin Britten and commentary by W H Auden
BRITTEN Sinfonietta Op.1 – for string quintet and wind quintet *CHARLIE PIPE*R New Work to film footage from the BFI archive – for string quintet and wind quintet – WORLD PREMIERE

This innovative project celebrates and links the centenaries of Benjamin Britten, arguably the most important British composer of the twentieth century, and the discovery of stainless steel here in Sheffield.

Six Metamorphoses after Ovid is a series of varying portraits with contrasting colours and moods, evoking images from Roman poet Ovid’s mythical story. Oboist Adrian Wilson has been working with a local film-maker to produce a film which reflects and responds to the transformations depicted in the six movements.

The Way to the Sea is a documentary made in 1936 about the electrification of the London to Portsmouth railway line as part of a series of public information films with music by Britten and commentary by W H Auden.

Inspired by the highly evocative genre of film and music, our Associate Composer Charlie Piper has been working with recently restored film footage of steel production in the 1930s from the BFI’s (British Film Institute) archives and has visited local working steelworks as part of the research process behind the composition of his new piece.

Post-concert Q&A: Composer, film-maker and musician come together to answer your questions on the evening’s performance.

Sat 11 May 8:30pm £5.00 - £10.00

The Showroom, Paternoster Row : Sheffield

blog comments powered by Disqus