A Sheffield Theatres Production

The Daughter-in-Law

by D.H. Lawrence

Public Dress Rehearsal

Preview

Talkback

Audio Described

Signed

Captioned

Access Performances: See Dates & Times tab

Presented at Crucible Theatre
Running time: aprox. 2 hours 15 mins (including an interval of 20 mins)

‘My son’s my son till he ta’es him a wife…’

It’s 1912 in a Derbyshire mining town and strike action looms. But it’s strife at home that hurts all the more. After their long courtship the Gascoignes’ short honeymoon is well and truly over.

Ambitious Minnie is still trying to disentangle miner Luther from his mother’s apron strings when a pre-marital dalliance makes a reappearance and blows the marriage apart. Will his mother have to pick up the pieces? Or will events at the pit decide all their fates for them?

The bonds between a mother and her sons, between husband and wife, between desire and freedom, are stretched to breaking point.

One of the greatest plays of the twentieth century, by the author of Sons and Lovers.

Wed 27 Feb 7:30pm Public Dress Rehearsal £1.00 Currently Unavailable
Thu 28 Feb 7:30pm Preview £10.00
Fri 1 Mar 7:30pm Preview £10.00
Sat 2 Mar 7:30pm Preview £10.00
Mon 4 Mar 7:00pm £10.00
Tue 5 Mar 7:30pm £19.00
Wed 6 Mar 2:30pm £15.00
Wed 6 Mar 7:30pm £19.00
Thu 7 Mar 7:30pm £19.00
Fri 8 Mar 7:30pm £19.00
Sat 9 Mar 2:30pm £15.00
Sat 9 Mar 7:30pm £21.00
Tue 12 Mar 7:30pm £19.00
Wed 13 Mar 2:30pm £15.00
Wed 13 Mar 7:30pm £19.00
Thu 14 Mar 7:30pm Talkback, Audio Described, Signed £19.00
Fri 15 Mar 7:30pm £19.00
Sat 16 Mar 2:30pm £15.00
Sat 16 Mar 7:30pm £21.00
Tue 19 Mar 7:30pm £19.00
Wed 20 Mar 2:30pm £15.00
Wed 20 Mar 7:30pm Captioned £19.00
Thu 21 Mar 7:30pm £19.00
Fri 22 Mar 7:30pm £19.00
Sat 23 Mar 2:30pm £15.00
Sat 23 Mar 7:30pm £21.00

‘highly charged’

‘The air crackles with erotic tension’

‘the intelligent freshness of Miller’s direction, and of the performances…reveals emotional truth in a play that in other hands might have become a mere period piece.’

‘beautifully lit by Mark Doubleday’ 4 stars Daily Telegraph

‘the cast are beautifully at home…(and) invigorate their characters perfectly’

‘Simon Daw’s set is immaculately period’ 4 stars The Times 4 stars The Guardian

The Cast

Lynda Baron

Lynda Baron

Mrs Gascoyne

David Chafer

David Chafer

Cabman

Andrew Hawley

Andrew Hawley

Joe

Philip McGinley

Philip McGinley

Luther

Marlene Sidaway

Marlene Sidaway

Mrs Purdy

Creatives

Paul Miller

Director

Simon Daw

Designer

Mark Doubleday

Lighting Designer

Charmian Hoare

Dialect Coach

Terry Davies

Composer

Crucible Theatre

blog comments powered by Disqus