Music in the Round

Spark of Heaven

Ensemble 360

BAX Sonata for Clarinet and Piano
HARRISON BIRTWISTLE Trio – for violin, cello and piano
BRUCH 8 Pieces Op.83 (excerpts) – for clarinet, viola and piano
HOWELLS Rhapsodic Quintet Op.31 – for clarinet and string quartet

This lunchtime concert is packed with rhapsodic, lyrical and luscious sounds, starting with Bax ’s elegiac Clarinet Sonata, dedicated to a fellow cricketer and amateur musician Hugh Prew.

Despite being written at a time when many composers were experimenting with modernism, Bruch ’s 8 Pieces are Romantic in style, possessing a luscious, rich and lyrical sound.

Birtwistle ’s elegiac Trio will come as a surprise to many who know his incendiary large-scale works. This is a traditional piece that juxtaposes elemental and simple ideas.

Herbert Howells described his Rhapsodic Quintet as having a “mystic quality”. It is an evocative and poetic piece which closes in serene beauty.

Wed 15 May 12:45pm £5.00 - £10.00


Located within the Crucible building, the Studio Theatre has a flexible design allowing the seating to be adjusted to play on one, two or three sides or in the round. Seating in the Studio is unreserved.
The Studio hosts a mix of small-scale in-house and touring productions, as well as hosting the acclaimed Ensemble 360's tri-annual Music in the Round Festival.

  • 55 Norfolk Street, Sheffield, S1 1DA
blog comments powered by Disqus