Music In The Round

Ensemble 360

The Captives and The Captivated

SCHULHOFF Concertino for flute, viola and double bass
HAAS Oboe Suite
JANÁČEK String Quartet No.1 Kreutzer Sonata

Underlying this programme of music by three wonderful Czech composers is the poignancy of the cruel fate that befell two of them. When Janáček composed his String Quartet No.1, he wrote to his muse Kamila Stösslová that he imagined ‘a poor woman, tormented and run down, just like the one the Russian writer Tolstoy describes in his Kreutzer Sonata’. The blazing passion of this music also suggests a personal inspiration close to Janáček’s heart – his passionate love for Kamila. Pavel Haas was Janáček’s most gifted pupil and his Oboe Suite was written in 1939, two years before Haas’s deportation to Terezin Concentration Camp and his subsequent death in the gas chambers of Auschwitz. The startlingly original Erwin Schulhoff – who died of tuberculosis in Wülzburg camp – wrote his Concertino in 1925, drawing on the energetic rhythms of Czech folk dances.

*A transaction fee applies to all bookings made at the Box Office (excluding cash) of £1.50 (£1.00 to online bookings)

Mon 12 May 12:45pm £11.00/ £7.50/ £5.00*


Located within the Crucible building, the Studio Theatre has a flexible design allowing the seating to be adjusted to play on one, two or three sides or in the round. Seating in the Studio is unreserved.
The Studio hosts a mix of small-scale in-house and touring productions, as well as hosting the acclaimed Ensemble 360's tri-annual Music in the Round Festival.

  • 55 Norfolk Street, Sheffield, S1 1DA
blog comments powered by Disqus