Democracy

Public Dress Rehearsal

Preview

Talkback

Audio Described

Signed

Access Performances: See Dates & Times tab

Presented at Crucible
Michael Frayn
Running time: 2.5 hours approximately including 20min interval

Part of the The Michael Frayn Season

5 stars The Daily Mail 4 stars The Sunday Times 4 stars The Guardian

The leader of a new coalition government must keep his friends close and his enemies closer. The problem is knowing who to trust. Left, right and centre all regard each other with suspicion. And as for the Russians…

Willy Brandt, one of the most charismatic leaders in post-war politics, makes history as he starts to reunite Europe. But there’s a spy in his office and his plans are about to be thrown into chaos. What is loyalty? And where does yours lie?

Democracy is a witty and compelling Olivier Award-winning play about an inspirational man.

Listen to members of the cast talking about Democracy, the parts they play and being onstage in Sheffield:

Thu 8 Mar 7:30pm Public Dress Rehearsal
Fri 9 Mar 7:30pm Preview
Sat 10 Mar 7:30pm Preview
Mon 12 Mar 7:30pm Preview
Tue 13 Mar 7:30pm
Wed 14 Mar 7:30pm
Thu 15 Mar 7:30pm
Fri 16 Mar 7:30pm
Sat 17 Mar 2:30pm
Sat 17 Mar 7:30pm
Tue 20 Mar 7:30pm
Wed 21 Mar 2:30pm
Wed 21 Mar 7:30pm
Thu 22 Mar 7:30pm Talkback, Audio Described
Fri 23 Mar 7:30pm
Sat 24 Mar 2:30pm
Sat 24 Mar 7:30pm
Tue 27 Mar 7:30pm Signed Call Box Office: 0114 249 6000
Wed 28 Mar 2:30pm
Wed 28 Mar 7:30pm
Thu 29 Mar 7:30pm
Fri 30 Mar 7:30pm
Sat 31 Mar 2:30pm
Sat 31 Mar 7:30pm

5 stars ‘Democracy is a gripping night out’

‘A fitting conclusion to Sheffield’s Frayn season’

The Daily Mail

—- 4 stars

‘from this masterclass in politicking, staged with style in Paul Miller’s revival, emerges an inspiring tale’_

The Times

—- 4 stars

‘Paul Miller’s fluid, sure-footed Sheffield revival…shows [the play] at its best’

The Telegraph

—- 4 stars

‘Richard Hope is especially fine’

The Guardian

—- 4 stars rn. The Sunday Times

—- 4 stars ‘well crafted and well performed’

‘an absorbing tale’

Public Reviews

—-

‘the success of this ambitious season is undeniable and should be applauded’
whatsonstage

—-

‘Simon Daw’s set design maintains the high standard the Crucible has set for itself’

‘The all-male cast is strong’
Broadway World

—- 4 stars Yorkshire Post

—- 4 stars ‘outstanding performances’

‘[a] hugely satisfying production’
The Daily Express

The Cast

Andrew Bridgmont

Andrew Bridgmont

Reinhard Wilke

David Cann

David Cann

Gunther Nollau

Patrick Drury

Patrick Drury

Willy Brandt

Richard Hope

Richard Hope

Horst Ehmke

William Hoyland

William Hoyland

Herbert Wehner

Ed Hughes

Ed Hughes

Arno Kretschmann

David Mallinson

David Mallinson

Helmut Schmidt

Aidan McArdle

Aidan McArdle

Gunter Guillaume

James Quinn

James Quinn

Ulrich Bauhaus

Rupert Vansittart

Rupert Vansittart

Hans-Dietrich Genscher

Creatives

Paul Miller

Director

Simon Daw

Designer

Mark Doubleday

Lighting Designer

Ben and Max Ringham

Composers

Crucible

The Crucible is the main producing venue in the Sheffield Theatres complex. On occasion, the Crucible hosts touring work. The Crucible is also the home of the annual World Snooker Championship.
The performance area is a thrust stage which extends into the auditorium, enabling the audience to watch the action on three sides. No member of the audience is ever further than 22 metres from the stage, and the sightlines are excellent, offering equality of experience across the auditorium.

  • 55 Norfolk St, Sheffield, S1 1DA, South Yorkshire , United Kingdom
  • Box Office: 0114 249 6000
blog comments powered by Disqus