A Sheffield Theatres Production

A Taste of Honey

Public Dress Rehearsal

Preview

Talkback

Audio Described

Signed

Captioned

Access Performances: See Dates & Times tab

Presented at Crucible

Running time: Approx. 2 hours and 30 mins, including one interval of 20 minutes

By Shelagh Delaney

‘It’s chaotic – a bit of love, a bit of lust and there you are. We don’t ask for life, we have it thrust upon is’

Jo is 16 and fearless. Her boyfriend’s at sea, her mother’s gone AWOL and her due date is just around the corner. The only person she can rely on is herself. But with Geof, her new flatmate, by her side, this feisty teenager is about to take on the world.

Set in 1950s Manchester and exploring Britain on the precipice of change, A Taste of Honey celebrates the spirit of one young girl with the strength to rebel against the social constraints of her time.

A seminal first play by the late Shelagh Delaney. This brand new production – the first since the writer’s death last year – features a live jazz trio on stage and is directed by Polly Findlay (National Theatre’s Antigone and Derren Brown’s Svengali).

Thu 25 Oct 7:30pm Public Dress Rehearsal £1.00 Call Box Office: 0114 249 6000
Fri 26 Oct 7:30pm Preview £10.00
Sat 27 Oct 7:30pm Preview £10.00
Mon 29 Oct 7:00pm Preview £10.00
Tue 30 Oct 7:30pm £19.00
Wed 31 Oct 7:30pm £19.00
Thu 1 Nov 7:30pm £19.00
Fri 2 Nov 7:30pm £19.00
Sat 3 Nov 2:30pm £15.00
Sat 3 Nov 7:30pm £21.00
Tue 6 Nov 7:30pm £19.00
Wed 7 Nov 2:30pm £15.00
Wed 7 Nov 7:30pm £19.00
Thu 8 Nov 7:30pm Talkback £19.00
Fri 9 Nov 7:30pm £19.00
Sat 10 Nov 2:30pm £15.00
Sat 10 Nov 7:30pm £21.00
Tue 13 Nov 7:30pm £19.00
Wed 14 Nov 2:30pm £15.00
Wed 14 Nov 7:30pm £19.00
Thu 15 Nov 7:30pm Audio Described, Signed £19.00
Fri 16 Nov 7:30pm £19.00
Sat 17 Nov 2:30pm Captioned £15.00
Sat 17 Nov 7:30pm £21.00

4 stars The Sunday Times

‘excellently-staged revival’
‘proves beyond question that Delaney’s play… is wise and accomplished’
‘[Eva Pope’s] Helen is the life-force of this production‘
Daily Telegraph

‘glowing central performance’
The Guardian

‘hits the sweet spot’
‘full-blooded’
‘[has] the inimitability of a classic’
The Times

‘dynamic and fast-paced’
Broadway World

The Cast

Christopher Hancock

Christopher Hancock

Geof

Andrew Knott

Andrew Knott

Peter

David Judge

David Judge

Jimmie

Eva Pope

Eva Pope

Helen

Katie West

Katie West

Jo

Creatives

Polly Findlay

Director

Soutra Gilmour

Designer

Peter Mumford

Lighting Designer

Ben and Max Ringham

Music and Sound

Crucible

The Crucible is the main producing venue in the Sheffield Theatres complex. On occasion, the Crucible hosts touring work. The Crucible is also the home of the annual World Snooker Championship.
The performance area is a thrust stage which extends into the auditorium, enabling the audience to watch the action on three sides. No member of the audience is ever further than 22 metres from the stage, and the sightlines are excellent, offering equality of experience across the auditorium.

  • 55 Norfolk St, Sheffield, S1 1DA, South Yorkshire , United Kingdom
  • Box Office: 0114 249 6000
blog comments powered by Disqus